Home » Admiration » What is “KILIG” Feeling?

What is “KILIG” Feeling?

Welcome to my own little world. I am sure my life is unique but definitely we still share some things in common. In the morning, I am usually busy in the kitchen cooking and making breakfast for the family. Next getting my son ready for school or bible class, dropping him off to school, running errands (usually grocery), cleaning up the house (I won’t go into details. I tend to be a neat freak!),  taking care of my toddler, picking up my son from school, cooking dinner, giving the kids a bath, and putting them to bed. When they are fast asleep (one of my favorite times)  I enjoy watching recorded TV shows with my hubby while having a beer or two. Oh I forgot, somewhere in there, I try to work on my blog too. Basically this is the routine everyday. Why and I mentioning these? Because in the midst of my routine, today, something special happened to me… There was a break and it inspired me to write.

I felt something we call “kilig” in the Philippines. I am not sure what is the exact word for it  in English, so I quickly looked up for a description from urbandictionary.com.

KILIG
Noun “It is the sudden feeling of an inexplicable joy one gets when something romantic or idealistic occurs.
When kilig, one may experience the following:
*butterflies in one’s stomach
*heart melting
*shivers down one’s spine
*irrepressible noises from one’s mouth
*uncontrollable smiling
*an inner conflict between hope of something wished for and realityKilig may also be defined as that mountain top, floating, on cloud nine, invincible, i-could-keep-smiling, heart aching goodness and feeling which overpowers the mind’s ability to think straight, act straight, breathe properly and articulate thoughts into a single comprehensible sentence”.

For me, kilig is one of the most beautiful human experiences. I am certain, sometime in your life you have felt this with someone. It reminded me of my younger days, of those love and inspiration, love letters, phone calls, surprise visits, when the heart would beat so fast to the point that you could hear it.I recall having felt this so many times with my first relationship, with a very special friendship, unspoken feelings, mutual understandings, and definitely towards the man I married. Yes that is “kilig”!  This morning, I received a message from my sister. She said she has a Christmas present for me! I saw my phone and there was a special video message from my long time crush! He is one of the most sought eligible bachelor in the movie industry in Manila (special mention to Piolo Jose Pascual). He made me smile and brought back those nice feelings. Special thanks to my sister for knowing how to “tickle” me. This is one unique early Christmas gift. Thanks to Instagram, now you can follow celebrities. It makes you feel close to them when you see their personal photos and messages. It makes you feel like you can truly reach for the stars. You are lucky when they get to reply to your comment. I guess the social media is really a powerful tool connecting people in some level.

Now I am back to my reality. As I write this article, my children won’t stop calling me to play with them. Ciao!  Until next time!

Appreciate little things in life. Be young at heart!

rose-love-letter

2 thoughts on “What is “KILIG” Feeling?

Leave a Reply

