Home » inspiration » Need and Greed

Need and Greed

HmtGaH8I was checking some posts from the people I follow in Instagram and came across this quote. I can not help but comment and give my thoughts about it. I am just unsure if I was making sense.

It says here ” Whether you have a Maruti or a BMW, the road remains the same. Whether you travel economy class or business, your destination doesn’t change. Whether you have a Titan or a Rolex, the time is the same. Whether you have apple Samsung or lava, people who call you remain the same. There is nothing wrong in dreaming a luxurious life. What needs to be taken care of is to not let the NEED become GREED. Because needs can always be met…but greed can never be fulfilled.” – Rajinikanth

Then I replied to the Instagram post. I Agree, but if we allow ourselves to dream of a luxurious life, then we may want more. We may begin to see the things that we do not have. We may not become aware that we can not stop wanting more and more. Wanting less is better. This does not mean we do not want to progress. It is different. The focus is just appreciating what we have. Keeping our eyes on our blessings right now, and making sure the basic needs in life are met. Maybe this will bring us more happiness if we are contented.

What is your view about this?

8 thoughts on “Need and Greed

  1. I think counting our blessings and begin happy we have the road to travel, a destination to go to, someone to call us…that is what is truly important. It is okay to dream of owning more luxurious things, but being okay with what you have now even if it never changes that is a path to true contentment

    Liked by 1 person

  2. In this day of age we live in its not easy to separate yourself I saw the Tibetan Buddhist mock from the highlands of India trying to get his word out on pbs it made me think is this really necessary,I am still trying to understand if a man needs to wear a shirt or if he wants to wear a shirt,it’s a question that I constantly ask

    Liked by 1 person

  3. With five children, we thought we needed a six bedroom house and some land in the country, so we bought land and built the house. Some neighbors had nine children and a three bedroom house. It was pretty clear that want and need are not the same.
    Now at seventy-seven, I live in an apartment. When we began to downsize I had to give up hundreds of books. Books and photo albums were my most prized possessions. It was painful to part with my books.
    Now I have a computer and a kindle and have all the books in the world at my finger tips in a very small space. And I only have to clean, heat and cool, and pay for a very small space
    Somehow when we don’t need to own things, we get to enjoy them even more.
    (But I would really miss my computer.) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww Eileen, what you said is very meaningful. I am 35 with 2 children and these words of wisdom from people with more experience is what I need. Thank you, pls continue to share your thoughts. I really appreciate it. What you said makes me think. Maybe simplicity breeds more contentment and happiness???

      Like

Leave a Reply

