Home » death » To The Man Who Raised My Man

To The Man Who Raised My Man

Somebody crossed my mind today…

I was cuddling my baby to sleep then I suddenly thought about him. After recalling some memories with him, unexpectedly, tears fell from my eyes. I only got to be with him for almost 2 months, and it was an honor to meet my father-in-law.

I wonder how things could have been if he is still alive. I wish he is here with us instead. He was a very kindhearted man. I agree with what others say, my husband is so much like his dad, very good man, slow to anger, mellow, God loving, and a very loving husband and father. My father-in-law would talk about his children to me, with all his heart. I can see he was teary eyed whenever he talked about them. I could feel how much he loved them. I remember some things he told me: some stories, his feelings towards some people. I remember he thought me how to do the laundry or even how to properly cut the onions. You see, I was not really domesticated. Back home in the Philippines, there were people who helped us with housework (that’s just the culture or way of life there).

I moved to my boyfriend’s house (who is now my husband) on March 1, 2007 and my father-in-law died on April 23. I remember that day. At around 3:00pm he told me he was going out to refill some gallons of water from a store nearby. He did not usually go out during those hours. I even asked him why don’t he just wait for his son. I think he said it is good to take a walk or exercise and that he was going to use the back door. He used his push cart to carry the empty water bottles. My husband usually came home at 4:30pm and then we received a phone call. He had an accident on the road while he was crossing. So that’s the end. He never came back…

This is a very unforgettable experience to me. It was the first time I experienced being around somebody who is alive and happy… then gone forever. This reminded me once again of a song in my head. It makes me really sad when I hear this song. I guess this is how our lives are. We are here now then we can be gone any moment.

“Gone Too Soon”

Like A Comet
Blazing ‘Cross The Evening Sky
Gone Too SoonLike A Rainbow
Fading In The Twinkling Of An Eye
Gone Too SoonShiny And Sparkly
And Splendidly Bright
Here One Day
Gone One NightLike The Loss Of Sunlight
On A Cloudy Afternoon
Gone Too Soon

Like A Castle
Built Upon A Sandy Beach
Gone Too Soon

Like A Perfect Flower
That Is Just Beyond Your Reach
Gone Too Soon

Born To Amuse, To Inspire, To Delight
Here One Day
Gone One Night

Like A Sunset
Dying With The Rising Of The Moon
Gone Too Soon

Gone Too Soon

11 thoughts on “To The Man Who Raised My Man

  1. A great post. It’s said that a man dies twice. Once when he takes his last breath, and again the last time a thought of him runs through someone’s head. Keep his memory alive and keep him in conversation. I lost who would’ve been my father-in-law as well, and he was one of the greatest people I’ve ever known. But he lives on, because he affected my life. That’s a really traumatic experience. I’m sorry for you and your husband.

    Liked by 1 person

    • He was a good man though we did not get really close because of the short time we had. And it does not usually happen that he crosses my mind. Maybe because it is my husband’s bday this week and it is almost my father in law’s 8th death anniversary. I know that he and my husband are very close… Thank you Meredith for taking time to read this post.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

