Home » death » What Lies Ahead Of Us?

What Lies Ahead Of Us?

I was born and raised Catholic. I firmly believe in God. However, this playful mind of mine never stops going some places far. In my heart I know God fully understands. He never gets mad about questions. I believe that’s what makes us special. We think. So my thoughts here are independent of my belief. Some questions just floating in my head.

With the loss of a loved one, I am thinking if there is really an after life. Is there really a soul. If there is, where does it go? What happens to it?  When we talk about our faith, I know the answer is: the soul goes to heaven, hell, or  Purgatory. Does the soul recognize his/her loved ones left on earth? Does he/she still get to see them?  I have read some stories about near death experiences of people and they usually report the same things: light, visions,  peaceful experience. It is comforting to know that.

I guess you will never truly know the truth unless you experience death. And there is actually no way of going back to tell the world what truly happens when you die because you are dead.  I am also thinking, what if when a person dies, it is simply just the end of everything? Non existent. Just no thoughts, no emotions, bodily functions stop. What if this life is the only chance, the only time and place that we can actually feel and think? The only moment we experience existence and being human.

 Photo credit: www.theindychannel.com
11 thoughts on “What Lies Ahead Of Us?

  1. As I get older thoughts just like the ones you shared here plague me. Questions of faith bother me but the emptiness I feel when considering that when we die there is nothing more scares me terribly. I completely understand your feelings and concerns. Knowing that I am not alone in my thoughts does provide some comfort, thank you so much for sharing. ~ Tilly

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Tilly, I am guessing as human beings we all go through these thoughts at some point in our lives. We share a lot of things in common. So we keep sharing to let the other one know that we are not alone!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Introspection is always a good thing… That said, your final paragraph is a very good take on what we actually know. My favorite summary of the ideas we all have heard, about what happens when we pass, goes like this:

    “There is no conclusive evidence of life after death; there is also no conclusive evidence there is not. Soon enough, you will know, so why fret about it?” — Lazarus Long, in Time Enough For Love, by Robert A. Heinlein

    In some way, perhaps our own will, our desires, are what determines what occurs. Perhaps we make our own heaven or hell, after death, just as we do here on Earth, while we live….

    gigoid, the dubious

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You are asking important questions of faith, hope, and love during your time of grief. Very honest and brave. I find hope in the final line of our profession of faith, “I believe in the resurrection of the body and life everlasting.” Also, when my heart is breaking, I re-read teachings to help keep my brain thinking clearly, http://www.vatican.va/archive/ccc_css/archive/catechism/p123a12.htm Hope something here helps but if not, I’m confident that your love and being well-loved is what is needed most. My best to you.

    Like

  4. It’ great to think out of the box and ask questions. .Although you will never get real answers to this question,you will be at peace. I also lost someone recently so I understand how you feel.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

